SSC Combined Graduate Level (CGL) Examination

One of the SSC’s most well-attended exams is used to fill numerous Group B and C positions in government agencies and ministries


.The applicant must be an Indian citizen, or

.A citizen of Nepal, Bhutan, or a Tibetan refugee who entered India before to January 1, 1962 with the aim of staying there permanently, or.a person of Indian descent who has migrated to .India with the purpose of staying there permanently from countries including Pakistan, Burma, Sri Lanka, Kenya, Uganda, the United Republic of Tanzania (formerly Tanganyika and Zanzibar), Zambia, Malawi, Zaire, Ethiopia, and Vietnam.

Age Restrictions: The age restriction varies according to the position being applied for. Candidates must typically be between the ages of 18 and 32. However, according to government regulations, there are age relaxations for several categories (such SC/ST, OBC, etc.).

Education Requirement: A Bachelor’s Degree from an accredited institution of higher learning, or an equivalent, is the minimal requirement.

Specific Post-wise Qualifications: The SSC CGL examination may have different educational criteria for various postings. For instance, certain positions can need a certain degree or knowledge in a particular field.

Fitness (if applicable): Certain positions, notably those in law enforcement, may have strict physical requirements that applicants must meet. The formal notice will make mention of this.

Desirable Qualifications (if Applicable): Although they are not required, some positions may have additional desirable qualifications that can give candidates an advantage.

Computer expertise (if Applicable): Computer expertise may be required for some positions. The official communication will include this information.

It’s necessary for candidates to consult the official SSC CGL notice for the particular year they are applying because the eligibility requirements can change from year to year. Before applying for the exam, individuals should make sure they meet all qualifying requirements.


Tier-I (Preliminary Examination):

1.General Intelligence & Reasoning

2.General Awareness

3.Quantitative Aptitude

4.English Comprehension

Tier-II (Main Examination):

1.Paper-I: Quantitative Abilities

2.Paper-II: English Language & Comprehension

3.Paper-III: Statistics (For candidates applying for the Statistical Investigator post)

4.Paper-IV: General Studies (Finance and Economics) (For candidates applying for the Assistant Audit Officer/Assistant Accounts Officer post)

Tier-III (Descriptive Paper):

1.Essay Writing

2.Letter/Application Writing

3.Tier-IV (Skill Test/Computer Proficiency Test):

This tier is applicable for certain posts and may include Data Entry Skill Test or Computer Proficiency Test.

Here is a more detailed breakdown:

Tier-I (Preliminary Examination) Syllabus:

1.General Intelligence & Reasoning

.Analogies, Similarities, and Differences

.Spatial Orientation, Visualization, and Spatial Relationship

.Coding and Decoding

.Arithmetic Reasoning

.Non-Verbal Serie

..Syllogistic Reasonin

.Decision Making, Problem Solving

.Visual Memory, Discrimination, Observation

2.General Awareness:

.Current Affairs




.Economic Scene

.General Polity

.Indian Constitution

.Scientific Research

3.Quantitative Aptitude:

.Computation of Whole Numbers, Decimals, Fractions

.Relationship between Numbers

.Percentage, Ratio & Proportion

.Square Roots, Averages

.Interest, Profit and Loss

..Time and Distanc



.Data Interpretation

4.English Comprehension

.Spotting Errors

.Fill in the Blanks


.Spelling/Detecting Mis-spelled words

.Idioms & Phrases

.One-word substitutio

.Sentence Improvement

.Reading Comprehension

Please be aware that this is only a basic overview and that the specific announcement issued by the Staff Selection Commission for a given year may cause some differences in the full syllabus. The official notification and curriculum document should be consulted for the most up-to-date information.


Certainly! The SSC Combined Graduate Level (CGL) Examination time limit and negative marking information is provided below in full:

1. Time Spent:

* Preliminary Examination, Tier I: There are 100 questions in the Tier-I exam, and applicants get an hour and a half to finish the paper.

*Main Examination, Tier II: The time allotted for each Tier-II paper varies. The time duration for each paper is as of my most recent knowledge update in September 2021 as follows:

*For all applicants, Paper I (Quantitative Abilities) will take two hours.

*2 hours (for all applicants) for Paper II (English Language & Comprehension)

*For candidates applying for the position of Statistical Investigator, Paper-III (Statistics) will take two hours.

*Candidates seeking for the position of Assistant Audit Officer/Assistant Accounts *Officer must complete Paper-IV (General Studies – Finance and Economics) in two hours.

*Candidates have one hour and sixty minutes to complete the essay and letter/application writing activities for Tier-III (Descriptive Paper), a pen-and-paper test.

*Tier-IV (Skill Test/Computer Proficiency Test): The time allotted for this tier varies based on the type of test—for example, a Data Entry Skill Test or a Computer Proficiency Test—to be taken.

2. Negative Notation

*Tier-I (Preliminary Examination): For each incorrect response, 0.50 marks are deducted.

*Tier-II (Main Examination): Starting in September 2021, Tier-II will be subject to the following negative marking:

*0.25 points are deducted for each incorrect answer on Paper I (Quantitative Abilities).

*0.25 points are deducted for each incorrect answer on Paper II (English Language and Comprehension).

*Paper-III (Statistics): 0.50 points deducted for each incorrect response

*0.50 points are deducted for each incorrect answer on Paper IV (General Studies – Finance and Economics).

Please be aware that the information used to determine these specifics was current as of September 2021. After this date, there might have been revisions or modifications. For the most up-to-date and correct details on the exam structure, time limit, and negative marking, always refer to the official SSC notification.

Leave a Reply