History Practice Quiz for SSC CGL & CHSL Exams - 2018 (Test - 134)

Model Question for CGL and CHSL Exam Papers

Q1. Which one of the following places was famous as capital of Tipu Sultan?
(a) Srirangpattam
(b) Gulbarga
(c) Hampi
(d) None of these

Q2. Who issued Firman granting Diwani of Bengal, Bihar and Orissa to the English?
(a) Ahmed shah
(b) Bahadur shah
(c) Farrukhsiyar
(d) Shah Alam II

Q3. Consider the following statements?
The treaty of Lahore was concluded between Sikhs and English Company during the tenure of Lord Ellenborough.
Lord Dalhousie made the annexation of Punjab to the British dominion

Which of the statements given above is/are correct?
(a) 1 only
(b) 2 only
(c) Both 1 and 2
(d) Neither 1 nor 2

Q4. Hyder Ali was defeated at Porto Novo by which British General?
(a) Captain Pophem
(b) Sir Eyrecoot
(c) Captain Hector Munro
(d) General Gedard

Q5. First decisive military success of English East India Company in India is marked by –
(a) Battle of Buxar
(b) Battle of Plassey
(c) Battle of Panipat
(d) Battle of Haldi Ghati

Q6. Which Sikh Guru assumed the title ‘Sachcha Padshah’?
(a) Guru Nanak
(b) Guru Teg Bahadur
(c) Guru Hargovind
(d) Guru Gobind Singh

Q7. Who among the following was not involved in the conspiracy against Sirajuddaulah?
(a) Manikchand
(b) Omichand
(c) Mohanlal
(d) Clive

Q8. The Gurumukhi script was introduced by–
(a) Guru Amardas
(b) Guru Ramdas
(c) Guru Angad
(d) Guru Nanak

Q9. Who was the last independent Nawab of Bengal?
(a) Sirajuddaulah
(b) Mir Jafar
(c) Mir Kasim
(d) Najmuddaulah

Q10. The last major extension of British Indian territory took place during the time of –
(a) Dufferin
(b) Lytton
(c) Curzon
(d) Minto I

Q11. The ruler of which one of the following states was removed from power by the British on the pretext of misgovernance?
(a) Awadh
(b) Jhansi
(c) Nagpur
(d) Satara

Q12. What was the first cotton mill in India established?
(a) Surat
(b) Mumbai
(c) Ahmedabad
(d) Coimbatore

Q13. Where was the first iron and steel industry of India established?
(a) Bhadravati
(b) Burnpur
(c) Jamshedpur
(d) Bhilai

Q14. The first railway line in India was opened in the year -
(a) 1833
(b) 1853
(c) 1857
(d) 1861

Q15. The main grievance of the peasants in the Champaran Satyagraha (1917) was regarding the -
(a) Abwabs on illegal taxes
(b) Oppression of the landlords
(c) Land revenue demands
(d) Tinkathiya systems

ANSWERS : 1. Ans.(a) 2. Ans.(d) 3. Ans.(b) 4. Ans.(b) 5. Ans.(a) 6. Ans.(b) 7. Ans.(c) 8. Ans.(c)  9. Ans.(c)  10. Ans.(a)  11. Ans.(a) 12. Ans.(b) 13. Ans.(c) 14. Ans.(b)
15. Ans.(d)